Marble Memorial in the Palermo District in Buenos Aires – 24.5 meters high, created in marble from Carrara and brass.
In Spanish “El Monumento de los Españoles”, it got its name because it was a gift from the Spanish community. The top sculpture represents the “Republic”. It was built by sculptor Agustín Querol y Subirats.
This is one of the most beautiful monuments in Buenos Aires, not only for its magnificence, but also for its location, in the intersection of two wide boulevards: Avenue del Libertador and Avenue Sarmiento in Palermo.
Its real name is “Magna Carta and the Four Argentine Regions”, but everybody knows it as “El monumento de los Españoles” (The Monument of the Spaniards). It was donated in 1910 by the Spanish community for the centenary of the May Revolution. But the construction suffered several problems.
The first sculptor and winner of the design contest, Agustin Querol, died in 1909, and his creation had to be continued by another artist, Cipriano Folgueras, who also died shortly after.
The work was further delayed when the Spanish ship that was carrying the bronze pieces needed for its construction sunk on March, 1916 by the Brazilian coast. Replicas had to be ordered from Spain, which were finished by 1918.
The monument was finally inaugurated on May 25, 1927. There are many more tales and mysteries surrounding the story of this monument. If you are interested in learning its secret history join us on one of our Buenos Aires Secrets Tours.